Clicky

Is Kraft Parmesan Cheese Gluten Free

Is Kraft Parmesan Cheese Gluten-Free? Resolved (2023)

Last Updated on December 31, 2022 by Shari Mason

Experts estimate that 1% of the population worldwide is affected by celiac disease, and around 2 million are in the United States. However, only 30% of affected people are properly diagnosed. 

Most cheese does not contain gluten, but still, many people get confused when choosing their gluten-free diet.

This article will discuss the leading Parmesan cheese widely used in many restaurants. Is Kraft Parmesan Cheese gluten-free? And is it safe for people with celiac disease? 

Kraft Parmesan Cheese: Gluten-Free or Not?

kraft grated parmesan cheese

Kraft Parmesan Cheese is gluten-free. It was first introduced in 1945 and later became the leading brand of Italian-style Parmesan cheese in the United States.

It has a sharp and tangy flavor that enhances your pizzas, seafood, pasta, salads, or even your signature chicken dishes. The cheese also incorporates a salty and nutty taste into your favorite recipes on any occasion. 

Sold in an all-green shaker can, the Kraft Parmesan Cheese comes in 8-ounce convenient storage that you can refrigerate after opening.

The pre-grated cheese makes it a valuable and significant addition to restaurants and tables everywhere.

Does It Contain Ingredients With Gluten?

No, Kraft Parmesan Cheese does not have ingredients that contain gluten. 

The ingredients list of this product includes parmesan cheese (pasteurized part-skim milk, less than 2% enzymes, cheese culture, salt), cellulose powder, and potassium sorbate. 

Because of the gluten-free ingredients list, we regard Kraft Parmesan Cheese as gluten-free and relatively safe for people with gluten intolerance. In addition, the product also listed milk as the only allergen in the ingredients. 

Is Kraft Parmesan Cheese Labeled Gluten-Free?

No, Kraft Parmesan Cheese is not labeled gluten-free despite not having any gluten ingredients. There are also no gluten allergy warnings from the product. 

Kraft did not clarify the reason for not putting the gluten-free or no gluten label on their Parmesan Cheese. However, we can consider some reasoning behind that. 

It could be because of the manufacturing process where Kraft uses the same facility with their other gluten-containing products. Cross-contamination has a higher potential in this setup.

Are All Parmesan Cheese Gluten-Free?

Yes, Parmesan Cheese is naturally gluten-free [1]. It is an Italian cheese with a PDO or protected designation of origin set by the European Union. The maturation time for this particular cheese type is 12 months up to 40 months.

However, Parmesan cheese follows different rules in the United States. The original ingredients should only have milk, salt, and animal rennet, which are naturally gluten-free. 

But some brands tend to incorporate other gluten additives during production.

Is Kraft Parmesan Cheese Safe For People With Celiac Disease?

hand holding parmesan cheese

Yes, Kraft Parmesan Cheese is relatively safe for people with Celiac Disease. Gluten is a protein mostly found in rye, barley, and wheat and acts like a binder. Picture a stretchy pizza dough that would not rip easily because of gluten. 

But people diagnosed with celiac disease have an immune reaction to taking in gluten, causing them serious health damage.

Gluten damages the small intestine lining of those with celiac disease, and over time it will keep them from absorbing some nutrients [2]. 

The symptoms of this disease include fatigue, weight loss, diarrhea, bloating, and anemia. For that reason, we recommend only choosing products labeled as gluten-free to be safe. 

FAQs

Is Kraft Parmesan real Parmesan?

No, Kraft Parmesan is not real Parmesan. By law, the Parmigiano-Reggiano only allows three ingredients: milk, salt, and rennet, and it has a minimum aging of at least 12 months. 

The Kraft Parmesan Cheese contains additional ingredients like cheese cultures, potassium sorbate, and cellulose powder, with a six-month aging period.

How do you know if parmesan cheese is gluten-free?

You can check the ingredients listed on the package label to know if the Kraft Parmesan Cheese is gluten-free.

It is important to practice checking the ingredients list to avoid causing serious health problems for people with certain illnesses like celiac disease. 

Final Say

Kraft Parmesan Cheese is a gluten-free recipe that can help you step up your favorite dishes anytime. It is an Italian-style cheese with sharp and tangy flavors that comes in an iconic green shaker can.

The European Union has a set of rules before allowing cheese to bear the Parmesan label. However, the United States does not adhere to those rules, and companies like Kraft age their Parmesan cheese for only six months instead of 12 months.

Despite the difference, Kraft Parmesan Cheese uses ingredients that do not contain gluten and are relatively safe for people with celiac disease.

References:

  1. https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/319926#how-is-cheese-made 
  2. https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/celiac-disease/symptoms-causes/syc-20352220
Shari Mason

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *